Rock and Roll Hall announces The Stooges, Genesis, and Abba as next inductees


After getting snubbed seven times, The Stooges finally scored an induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Swedish rock group ABBA, avant-garde rockers Genesis, British Invasion act The Hollies, and reggae musician Jimmy Cliff will join the group as the Hall’s 2010 class.

Led by the Iggy Pop, The Stooges came sneering out of Ann Arbor, Mich., in the late ’60s with a primal, growling sound that paved the way for punk, new wave, grunge and other, edgier music genres.

The Rock Hall also announced that its Ahmet Ertegun Award for non-performers would go to music industry executive David Geffen, the songwriting teams of Barry Mann and Cynthia Weil and Ellie Greenwich and Jeff Barry, and individual songwriters Jesse Stone, Mort Shuman and Otis Blackwell.

Ertegun, the founder and chairman of Atlantic Records, died in 2006.

Iggy Pop had this to say to Rolling Stone:

“We’ve been rejected seven times, and we would have set a record, I think, if it happened again. It started to feel like Charlie Brown and the football. I had about two hours of a strong emotional reaction after hearing the news. It felt like vindication. Then I kind of scratched my head and thought, ‘Am I still cool? Or is that over now?'”

The ceremony goes down on March 15 at the Waldorf Astoria in New York City. FUSE will broadcast the event live, which is actually pretty cool.